Returning to The Childless Stepparent Manifesto

by childless stepparent

Cultivate Your GardenI’ve been away from the blog for a while. It was a mindful decision not to analyze my situation but simply to BE.

My husband’s daughter is thriving. My husband and I are happy and close. It’s been a good time for us.

We’re dealing with some legal wrangling with my husband’s former spouse, but that will resolve itself.

I read the Childless Stepparent Manifesto yesterday and realize that #4 and #5 must be my mantras right now.

4. My husband chose his former wife to be his child’s mother. He must take responsibility for the consequences of that choice for himself and his daughter.

5. Whatever dynamic exists between my husband and his former wife does not involve me. They must work together for their child’s benefit.

I’ve stepped so far away from my Manifesto, it was a shock to read it again.

It brought me peace.

A good reminder about how important it is to take a step back, breathe, and let go.

