What Happens When I Neglect My Manifesto

by childless stepparent

self
Yesterday, I neglected my manifesto. I allowed myself to get annoyed by something my husband’s former wife did (Manifesto #5). I inserted myself unnecessarily into a parenting decision (Manifesto #1). I was too harsh toward my husband’s daughter when he and I talked things through (Manifesto #6).

I was filled with inner turbulence. Self-created suffering. Tension that spills into my relationships, which is not okay with me.

Today, I remember. The dynamic that exists between my husband and his former wife does not involve me. My stepchild has two involved parents. I don’t need to take on a parenting role. I will be kind to my stepchild. I will support my husband in his role as her dad.

I’m taking a step back, taking a breath, and letting go.

Manifesto #1 | I am a childless stepparent. My stepchild has two involved parents. I don’t need to take on a parenting role.

Manifesto #5 | Whatever dynamic exists between my husband and his former wife does not involve me. They must work together for their child’s benefit.

Manifesto #6 | I will be kind to my stepchild. I will support my husband in his role as her dad. I will contribute – on my own terms.

