Why I’m Writing about Childless Stepparents

by childless stepparent

definitions
In the U.S., there are an estimated 16 to 18 million stepchildren and 20 to 25 million stepparents. The figures are increasing daily.

60% of second marriages end in divorce. 67% of second marriages with children end in divorce.

In second marriages where the husband has children from a previous marriage, the wife has no children from a previous marriage, and the couple has no children of their own, the divorce rate is 73%. That’s the highest divorce rate among any demographic. I want to understand why that is.

Because that’s my situation.

I love my husband, I love my stepchild, I want to be part of the 27% that makes it.

I’ve been a stepparent for just a few years, but in those years I’ve learned a lot. I’ve been blessed with great abundance in my new life. I’ve also had to face some cold hard facts about my situation and myself. Things about my motivations, my reactions, my role in this new family.

I want to open a conversation that allows childless stepparents to understand ourselves in a new way. I want to help others see that what we choose NOT to do is just as important as what we choose to do. We can empower ourselves by facing our situation with a clear mind and an open heart.

The Childless Stepparent Manifesto is just the beginning.

